By: Burrows H.R. No. 2011

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Public Policy Foundation is celebrating
- 2 its 30th anniversary on May 26, 2019; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Established in San Antonio in 1989, the foundation
- 4 serves as a nonpartisan research institute dedicated to promoting
- 5 liberty, personal responsibility, and free enterprise; it
- 6 relocated its headquarters to Austin in 2002, and 13 years later, it
- 7 moved into its present home near the State Capitol; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The foundation provides policy makers with
- 9 academically sound research and analysis, and it encourages the
- 10 constructive political debate that is the hallmark of a strong
- 11 republic; over the years, it has incubated some of the most
- 12 influential concepts in the state, including the principles of a
- 13 Conservative Texas Budget; it also launched the Right on Crime
- 14 movement, which has revolutionized criminal justice reform
- 15 nationwide; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Furthering civics education and training new
- 17 generations of leaders, former public servants share their
- 18 expertise and vision as senior fellows of the foundation; each
- 19 year, the organization's Policy Orientation draws hundreds of
- 20 leaders from across the country, enhancing its reputation as one of
- 21 the nation's most influential think tanks; and
- 22 WHEREAS, For three decades, the Texas Public Policy
- 23 Foundation has defended liberty while raising awareness of the
- 24 state's model of low taxation, limited regulation, and personal

H.R. No. 2011

- 1 freedom as the engine for prosperity; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Public Policy Foundation
- 4 on its 30th anniversary and extend to all those associated with this
- 5 outstanding organization sincere best wishes for continued
- 6 success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the foundation as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.