H.R. No. 2028

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Mariachi Nuevo Santander of Roma High School is 2 celebrating the 25th anniversary of its founding in 2019, providing 3 a fitting opportunity to reflect on the group's notable record of 4 achievement; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 1994, Mariachi Nuevo Santander has 6 become a source of great pride for the Roma community; the ensemble 7 has performed across Texas and the United States, including at the 8 State Capitol and in Washington, D.C., and it has garnered numerous 9 championship awards and 13 national titles; and

10 WHEREAS, Mariachi Nuevo Santander has shared the stage with 11 some of the world's most renowned mariachi groups, among them 12 Mariachi Vargas de Tecalitlan, Mariachi Sol de Mexico de Jose 13 Hernandez, Mariachi Los Camperos, and Mariachi Cobre, and in 2017, 14 the ensemble was invited to showcase its abilities on NBC's 15 America's Got Talent; and

16 WHEREAS, Through the years, the program has benefited from 17 the dedicated efforts of a number of outstanding instructors, 18 including Yamil Yunes, its inaugural director, and Eloy Garza, who 19 leads the group today; and

20 WHEREAS, Over the course of a quarter century, Mariachi Nuevo 21 Santander has proven itself time and again as one of the premier 22 mariachi bands in the country, and its members are indeed deserving 23 of special recognition as they celebrate this important milestone 24 in the group's history; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2028

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 25th anniversary of Mariachi 3 Nuevo Santander and extend to all those associated with the 4 ensemble sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 2028

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2028 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House