RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Center for Big Bend Studies at Sul Ross State 2 University has entered into a memorandum of understanding with the Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia of Mexico and the 3 city of Ágreda, Spain, to pursue archaeological and historical 4 5 research; and 6 WHEREAS, SRSU has enjoyed a relationship with Mexican research institutions since the 1930s, and the CBBS renewed this 7 relationship on July 18, 2017, by signing a memorandum of 8

10 archaeological research in Mexico; this agreement seeks to secure

understanding with INAH, the federal agency that oversees all

11 viable archaeological and historical research areas in Big Bend

12 National Park in southwest Texas and the La Junta de los Rios region

13 of northern Mexico; and

9

14 WHEREAS, On April 12, 2019, the CBBS also executed an MOU with the city of Ágreda; situated in the Soria province of Spain, Ágreda 15 was the home of Sor María de Jesús, the 17th century abbess of the 16 Convento de la Concepción popularly known as "the Lady in Blue"; her 17 inspirational writings were brought to Texas by Franciscan friars, 18 and one of them, Antonio de Olivares, founded Mission San Antonio de 19 Valero, now known as the Alamo, on May 1, 1718; the mission's 20 21 original location at San Pedro Springs Park in San Antonio has been recognized by CBBS, INAH, the city of Ágreda, Univision 41 San 22 23 Antonio, Texas Before The Alamo, the Bexar County Historical Commission, and other entities; and 24

H.R. No. 2103 1 WHEREAS, Early research into the Spanish, Mestizo, and Mexican history of Texas was conducted by Herbert Eugene Bolton in 2 the Spanish archives in Mexico City, and his textbook, With the 3 Makers of Texas: A Source Reader in Texas History, influenced the 4 5 work of Adina de Zavala, an early member of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas; in addition to leading the effort to save the 6 Convento at the Alamo from destruction in 1908, she helped found the 7 8 Texas Historical Commission and published a book based on Bolton's research titled History and Legends of the Alamo and Other Missions 9 10 In and Around San Antonio; and WHEREAS, Bolton's research also influenced the work of 11 12 J. Charles Kelley, a pioneering archaeologist of the Borderlands region who first conceived of a center for Big Bend studies in the 1930s; after the founding of the INAH in 1939, he worked with the institute on several large-scale excavations in Chihuahua and

13 14 15 Zacatecas between 1949 and 1993, and as an adjunct professor at Sul 16 17 Ross, he helped establish the CBBS in 1987, freely sharing his lifetime of accumulated knowledge with other researchers; and 18

19 WHEREAS, The history of the Big Bend region is inextricably linked to the histories of Spain and Mexico, and the research 20 agreements between CBBS, INAH, and the city of Ágreda will provide 21 invaluable insight into the proud legacy of the Spanish and Mestizo 22 23 founders of Texas; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas Legislature hereby commemorate the signing of the memorandum of 25 26 understanding between the Center for Big Bend Studies, the Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia of Mexico, and the 27

- 1 city of Ágreda and extend to all involved sincere best wishes for
- 2 success in their important work; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 4 for CBBS, INAH, and Ágreda as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Nevárez

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dominguez Dutton Farrar Fierro Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas	Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rodriguez Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler
Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso	Murphy Murr Neave	Wu Zedler Zerwas
Goodwin	Nevárez	Zwiener

2	Speak	er (of	the	Hou	ıse	
opte	d by	the	Н	ouse	on	May	24,

I certify that H.R. No. 2103 was adopted by the House on May 24 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House