H.R. No. 2104

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The United States Coast Guard Sector/Air Station
- 2 Corpus Christi is celebrating the one-year anniversary of the
- 3 opening of Valent Hall in 2019; and
- WHEREAS, Valent Hall was named in honor of Chief Boatswain's
- 5 Mate Pablo Valent, a Corpus Christi native who forged a
- 6 distinguished career in the U.S. Coast Guard that spanned nearly
- 7 three decades; born on January 15, 1892, he enlisted in what was
- 8 then called the Life-Saving Service in 1912, and he was serving at
- 9 the Brazos Station on South Padre Island in 1919 when the
- 10 catastrophic Florida Keys Hurricane struck the Gulf of Mexico; he
- 11 and his fellow surfmen risked their lives to save the crew of a
- 12 capsized schooner in stormy seas, and the success of the mission
- 13 earned the rescuers the Coast Guard's Silver Life-Saving Medal for
- 14 their heroism; and
- WHEREAS, Chief Valent took charge of the Brazos Station in
- 16 1935, becoming the coast guard's first Hispanic American station
- 17 commander; he retired from the service in 1940 and passed away in
- 18 1969, at the age of 77; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Serving with honor, courage, and steadfastness,
- 20 Chief Pablo Valent embodied the highest ideals of the United States
- 21 Coast Guard, and Valent Hall stands as a lasting reminder of his
- 22 outstanding record of achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby commemorate the one-year anniversary of the

H.R. No. 2104

- 1 dedication of Valent Hall and extend to all those associated with
- 2 United States Coast Guard Sector/Air Station Corpus Christi sincere
- 3 best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for United States Coast Guard Sector/Air Station Corpus
- 6 Christi as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 2104

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2104 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House