H.R. No. 2171

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Legendary Texas journalist R. G. Ratcliffe is 2 retiring from *Texas Monthly* magazine in 2019, drawing to a close a
- 3 remarkable four-decade career covering state and national
- 4 politics; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Raised in Dallas, Robert Gary Ratcliffe first saw
- 6 his name in print at the age of five, when he got behind the wheel of
- 7 his mother's car and drove it into a house, an episode that became a
- 8 national wire service story; he subsequently focused on covering
- 9 the news rather than making it, and he honed his skills as a student
- 10 radio reporter at the University of Missouri while earning a degree
- 11 in journalism and American history; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Ratcliffe spent the early years of his career in
- 13 Georgia and Florida, and it was during that period that he developed
- 14 an interest in political journalism after conducting investigative
- 15 reporting on elected officials who took bribes from Colombian drug
- 16 lords; he also covered the trial of serial killer Ted Bundy for the
- 17 Florida Times-Union; returning to Texas, he worked briefly in the
- 18 Arlington bureau of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram before relocating
- 19 to Austin; after initially covering events in the capital city for
- 20 the Star-Telegram, he spent 24 years as a reporter for the Houston
- 21 Chronicle; in 2011, he started writing for Texas Monthly, and he
- 22 joined the magazine's permanent staff in 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Over the course of his 40 years in journalism,
- 24 Mr. Ratcliffe has covered six Texas governors, from Bill Clements

H.R. No. 2171

- 1 to Greg Abbott, as well as every national presidential race from
- 2 1988 to 2008; along the way, he also reported on the 1985 Mexico
- 3 City earthquake, chronicled the tectonic shift from Democratic to
- 4 Republican dominance in Texas politics, and authored an
- 5 investigative story about University of Texas management company
- 6 investments that has been used in teaching journalism classes at
- 7 Columbia University; he even got to enjoy a moment in the limelight
- 8 when he was featured in the HBO documentary Journeys with George,
- 9 about the 2000 presidential campaign; and
- 10 WHEREAS, By dedicating himself to the mission of holding
- 11 elected officials accountable for their actions, R. G. Ratcliffe
- 12 has earned a well-deserved reputation as one of the best political
- 13 reporters in Texas and throughout the nation, and his sharp
- 14 intellect, keen insight, and dry wit will be greatly missed by all
- 15 those who have had the good fortune to appreciate his work; now,
- 16 therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby congratulate R. G. Ratcliffe on his retirement
- 19 from Texas Monthly and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 20 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mr. Ratcliffe as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Raymond

H.R. No. 2171

Bonnen of Brazoria Guerra Noble Guillen Allen Oliverson Gutierrez Allison Ortega Anchia Harless Pacheco Anderson Harris Paddie Hefner Ashby Parker Bailes Patterson Hernandez Beckley Herrero Paul Bell of Kaufman Hinojosa Perez Bell of Montgomery Holland Phelan Price Bernal Howard Huberty Biedermann Ramos Blanco Hunter Raney Israel Raymond Bohac Bonnen of Galveston E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds J. Johnson of Dallas Bowers Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Buckley Romero, Jr. Bucy Kacal Rose Burns King of Hemphill Rosenthal King of Parker King of Uvalde Burrows Sanford Button Schaefer Klick Cain Shaheen Calanni Krause Sheffield Canales Kuempel Sherman, Sr. Capriglione Lambert Shine Clardy Smith Landgraf Cole Smithee Lang Coleman Larson Springer Collier Leach Stephenson Cortez Leman Stickland Craddick Longoria Stucky Lopez Swanson Cyrier Darby Lozano Talarico Thierry Davis of Dallas Lucio III Davis of Harris Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Martinez Fischer Thompson of Harris Dean Deshotel Metcalf Tinderholt Dominguez Meyer Toth Dutton Meza Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant Farrar Middleton Miller VanDeaver Fierro Flynn Minjarez Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morales White Geren Morrison Wilson Wray Gervin-Hawkins Muñoz, Jr. Goldman Murphy Wu González of Dallas Zedler Murr González of El Paso Neave Zerwas

Zwiener

Nevárez

Goodwin

	H.R. NO. 21/1
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2171 was	s adopted by the House on May 26,
2019, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House