By: Watson, Hinojosa, West

S.B. No. 479

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT

unit of the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin

- 2 relating to the inclusion in the definition of a medical and dental
- 4 and the School of Medicine at The University of Texas Rio Grande
- 5 Valley and the participation of those schools in certain programs
- 6 and funding.

1

3

- 7 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 8 SECTION 1. Section 51.821(4), Education Code, is amended to
- 9 read as follows:
- 10 (4) "Participating medical school" means each of the
- 11 following entities:
- 12 (A) the medical school at The University of Texas
- 13 Health Science Center at Houston;
- 14 (B) the medical school at The University of Texas
- 15 Southwestern Medical Center;
- 16 (C) the medical school at The University of Texas
- 17 Health Science Center at San Antonio;
- 18 (D) the medical school at The University of Texas
- 19 Medical Branch at Galveston;
- (E) the medical school at the Texas Tech
- 21 University Health Sciences Center at Lubbock;
- (F) the medical school at the Texas Tech
- 23 University Health Sciences Center at El Paso;
- 24 (G) the Baylor College of Medicine;

- 1 (H) the college of osteopathic medicine at the
- 2 University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth;
- 3 [and]
- 4 (I) the medical school at The Texas A&M
- 5 University System Health Science Center;
- 6 (J) the medical school at The University of Texas
- 7 at Austin; and
- 8 (K) the medical school at The University of Texas
- 9 Rio Grande Valley.
- SECTION 2. Section 61.003(5), Education Code, is amended to
- 11 read as follows:
- 12 (5) "Medical and dental unit" means The Texas A&M
- 13 University System Health Science Center and its component
- 14 institutions, agencies, and programs; the Texas Tech University
- 15 Health Sciences Center; the Texas Tech University Health Sciences
- 16 Center at El Paso; The University of Texas Medical Branch at
- 17 Galveston; The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; The
- 18 University of Texas Medical School at San Antonio; The University
- 19 of Texas Dental Branch at Houston; The University of Texas M. D.
- 20 Anderson Cancer Center; The University of Texas Graduate School of
- 21 Biomedical Sciences at Houston; The University of Texas Dental
- 22 School at San Antonio; The University of Texas Medical School at
- 23 Houston; the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at
- 24 Austin; the School of Medicine at The University of Texas Rio Grande
- 25 Valley [The University of Texas Health Science Center -- South Texas
- 26 and its component institutions, if established under Subchapter N,
- 27 Chapter 74]; the nursing institutions of The Texas A&M University

- 1 System and The University of Texas System; and The University of
- 2 Texas School of Public Health at Houston; and such other medical or
- 3 dental schools as may be established by statute or as provided in
- 4 this chapter.
- 5 SECTION 3. Section 63.002(c), Education Code, is amended to
- 6 read as follows:
- 7 (c) The amount available for distribution from the fund may
- 8 be appropriated only for programs that benefit medical research,
- 9 health education, or treatment programs at the following
- 10 health-related institutions of higher education:
- 11 (1) The University of Texas Health Science Center at
- 12 San Antonio;
- 13 (2) The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer
- 14 Center;
- 15 (3) The University of Texas Southwestern Medical
- 16 Center;
- 17 (4) The University of Texas Medical Branch at
- 18 Galveston;
- 19 (5) The University of Texas Health Science Center at
- 20 Houston;
- 21 (6) The University of Texas Health Science Center at
- 22 Tyler;
- 23 (7) The University of Texas Health Science
- 24 Center--South Texas and its component institutions, if established
- 25 under Subchapter N, Chapter 74;
- 26 (8) The Texas A&M University Health Science Center;
- 27 (9) the University of North Texas Health Science

- 1 Center at Fort Worth;
- 2 (10) the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center;
- 3 (11) the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
- 4 at El Paso; [and]
- 5 (12) the Dell Medical School at The University of
- 6 Texas at Austin;
- 7 (13) the School of Medicine at The University of Texas
- 8 Rio Grande Valley; and
- 9 (14) Baylor College of Medicine, if a contract between
- 10 Baylor College of Medicine and the Texas Higher Education
- 11 Coordinating Board is in effect under Section 61.092.
- 12 SECTION 4. (a) As soon as practicable after the effective
- 13 date of this Act, the medical schools at The University of Texas at
- 14 Austin and The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley each shall:
- 15 (1) enter into the agreement with the Joint Admission
- 16 Medical Program Council required by Section 51.829, Education Code;
- 17 and
- 18 (2) select an appropriate faculty member to represent
- 19 the respective medical school on the council.
- 20 (b) The medical schools at The University of Texas at Austin
- 21 and The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley each shall provide
- 22 internships and mentoring under the Joint Admission Medical Program
- 23 as appropriate beginning with the 2019-2020 academic year, but are
- 24 not required before the 2022-2023 academic year to admit
- 25 participating students to the medical schools under the program.
- 26 SECTION 5. The Dell Medical School at The University of
- 27 Texas at Austin and the School of Medicine at The University of

S.B. No. 479

- 1 Texas Rio Grande Valley are eligible to receive funding under
- 2 Subchapter A, Chapter 63, Education Code, beginning with
- 3 allocations for the state fiscal year that begins September 1,
- 4 2019.
- 5 SECTION 6. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
- 6 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
- 7 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this
- 8 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
- 9 Act takes effect September 1, 2019.