S.B. No. 479

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT 2 relating to the inclusion in the definition of a medical and dental unit of the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin 3 and the School of Medicine at The University of Texas Rio Grande 4 5 Valley and the participation of those schools in the Joint Admission Medical Program. 6 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 7 SECTION 1. Section 51.821(4), Education Code, is amended to 8 9 read as follows: (4) "Participating medical school" means each of the 10 11 following entities: (A) the medical school at The University of Texas 12 13 Health Science Center at Houston; 14 (B) the medical school at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; 15 (C) the medical school at The University of Texas 16 Health Science Center at San Antonio; 17 18 (D) the medical school at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; 19 20 (E) the medical school at Texas the Tech 21 University Health Sciences Center at Lubbock; 22 (F) the medical school at the Texas Tech 23 University Health Sciences Center at El Paso; 24 (G) the Baylor College of Medicine;

By: Watson

1

1 (H) the college of osteopathic medicine at the 2 University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth; 3 [and]

S.B. No. 479

4 (I) the medical school at The Texas A&M 5 University System Health Science Center;

(J) the medical school at The University of Texas
7 at Austin; and

8 (K) the medical school at The University of Texas
9 <u>Rio Grande Valley</u>.

10 SECTION 2. Section 61.003(5), Education Code, is amended to 11 read as follows:

(5) "Medical and dental unit" means The Texas A&M 12 University System Health Science Center and its 13 component 14 institutions, agencies, and programs; the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; the Texas Tech University Health Sciences 15 Center at El Paso; The University of Texas Medical Branch at 16 17 Galveston; The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; The University of Texas Medical School at San Antonio; The University 18 of Texas Dental Branch at Houston; The University of Texas M. D. 19 Anderson Cancer Center; The University of Texas Graduate School of 20 21 Biomedical Sciences at Houston; The University of Texas Dental School at San Antonio; The University of Texas Medical School at 22 Houston; the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at 23 24 Austin; the School of Medicine at The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley [The University of Texas Health Science Center--South Texas 25 26 and its component institutions, if established under Subchapter N, Chapter 74]; the nursing institutions of The Texas A&M University 27

2

S.B. No. 479

System and The University of Texas System; and The University of
 Texas School of Public Health at Houston; and such other medical or
 dental schools as may be established by statute or as provided in
 this chapter.

5 SECTION 3. (a) As soon as practicable after the effective 6 date of this Act, the medical schools at The University of Texas at 7 Austin and The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley each shall:

8 (1) enter into the agreement with the Joint Admission 9 Medical Program Council required by Section 51.829, Education Code; 10 and

11 (2) select an appropriate faculty member to represent 12 the respective medical school on the council.

The medical schools at The University of Texas at Austin 13 (b) 14 and The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley each shall provide 15 internships and mentoring under the Joint Admission Medical Program as appropriate beginning with the 2019-2020 academic year, but are 16 17 not required before the 2022-2023 academic year to admit participating students to the medical schools under the program. 18

19 SECTION 4. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives 20 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as 21 provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this 22 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this 23 Act takes effect September 1, 2019.

3