By: Kolkhorst

1

4

S.B. No. 940

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT

2 relating to the application of the professional prosecutors law to 3 the district attorney for the 24th Judicial District.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

5 SECTION 1. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 6 read as follows:

Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors,
and the following state prosecutors:

(1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg 10 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 24th, 11 12 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 13 14 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 79th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 15 123rd, 132nd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 16 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 17 268th, 271st, 286th, 287th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, 369th, 18 452nd, and 506th judicial districts; 19

(2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,
Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison,

1

Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto,
 Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker,
 Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

S.B. No. 940

4 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
5 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Aransas, Callahan,
6 Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone,
7 Gonzales, Guadalupe, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee,
8 Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Oldham, Orange,
9 Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher, Terry, Webb, and
10 Willacy.

SECTION 2. Section 43.111(c), Government Code, is repealed.
 SECTION 3. This Act takes effect September 1, 2019.

2