S.C.R. No. 3

1

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2 BE IT RESOLVED by the 86th Legislature, That a joint committee, composed of six members of the senate appointed by the 3 4 lieutenant governor and six members of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house, arrange for the canvass of 5 6 the votes cast for governor and lieutenant governor at the general election held on November 6, 2018, and that a joint session of the 7 senate and house be held in the hall of the house of representatives 8 at 12 noon on Thursday, January 10, 2019, for the purpose of 9 10 counting the votes, receiving the report, and hearing the declaration of the results of the canvass; and, be it further 11

RESOLVED, That the senate and house of representatives sit in joint session at 11 a.m. on Tuesday, January 15, 2019, for the inauguration of the governor-elect and lieutenant governor-elect of Texas as determined by the canvass of the votes; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That a joint committee, composed of five members of 18 the senate appointed by the lieutenant governor and five members of 19 the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house, 20 make arrangements for the joint session and oath-taking ceremony on 21 January 15, 2019; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That the Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas is instructed to close all vehicle entrances to the Capitol grounds beginning at 5 p.m. on Monday, January 14, 2019, and ending

1

## S.C.R. No. 3

1 at 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, January 15, 2019, except for those 2 vehicles approved by the inaugural committee as necessary for use 3 in connection with the joint session and oath-taking ceremony and 4 the program following.

President of the Senate Speaker of the House I hereby certify that S.C.R. No. 3 was adopted by the Senate on January 8, 2019, by a viva-voce vote.

## Secretary of the Senate

I hereby certify that S.C.R. No. 3 was adopted by the House on January 9, 2019, by the following vote: Yeas 142, Nays 0, one present not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House