By: Fallon

S.C.R. No. 32

## CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The valiant military service of Britt K. Slabinski
is being saluted as part of the 2019 Medal of Honor Host City
Weekend in Gainesville; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2001, Gainesville's Medal of Honor Host City Program acknowledges the heroism and sacrifice of individuals who have earned the Medal of Honor, the nation's highest military award for valor; each year, local citizens join together to fund travel costs and other expenses to bring medal recipients to the city for a special series of events; and

WHEREAS, A senior chief with the Naval Special Warfare 10 11 Development Group, Mr. Slabinski received the Medal of Honor for 12 his actions on March 4, 2002, while assigned to a joint task force during the war in Afghanistan; Mr. Slabinski was 13 leading a reconnaissance mission in the mountains when the 14 insertion helicopter was damaged by enemy fire, causing a member of the team 15 to be ejected from the aircraft; Mr. Slabinski fearlessly launched 16 an assault to rescue the teammate; exposed to attack from three 17 directions, he and his team engaged the enemy in a close-quarters 18 firefight; Mr. Slabinski carried a wounded teammate across 19 20 difficult terrain while drawing fire from the enemy and continued 21 the fight until the location had been secured and the team was extracted; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Demonstrating extraordinary courage in the line of 24 duty, Britt Slabinski fulfilled the highest ideals of the United

1

States armed forces, and he has earned the lasting admiration of a
grateful nation; now, therefore, be it

S.C.R. No. 32

RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby pay tribute to Britt K. Slabinski on the occasion of the 2019 Medal of Honor Host City Weekend in Gainesville and commend him for his exemplary service in the defense of our nation; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Mr. Slabinski as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

2