By: Fallon

S.C.R. No. 37

## CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The valiant military service of James Allen Taylor 2 is being saluted as part of the 2019 Medal of Honor Host City 3 Weekend in Gainesville; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2001, Gainesville's Medal of Honor Host City Program acknowledges the heroism and sacrifice of individuals who have earned the Medal of Honor, the nation's highest military award for valor; each year, local citizens join together to fund travel costs and other expenses to bring medal recipients to the city for a special series of events; and

WHEREAS, During the Vietnam War, Captain Taylor was assigned 10 to Troop B of the United States Army's 1st Cavalry as an executive 11 officer; after a fortified position west of Que Son came under fire, 12 he witnessed an intense attack on an armored cavalry assault 13 14 vehicle, which left it in serious danger of exploding; at tremendous risk to his own life, he rescued all of the wounded 15 16 crewmen just before their vehicle erupted into flames; Captain Taylor was wounded while returning to his own vehicle, but he 17 continued with his mission and successfully moved the medical 18 evacuation landing zone closer to the front lines; he ultimately 19 20 saved the lives of several more soldiers who were riding in another 21 stricken vehicle and was able to drive them safely to the new evacuation site; and 22

WHEREAS, Demonstrating extraordinary courage in the line of
duty, James Allen Taylor fulfilled the highest ideals of the United

1

States armed forces, and he has earned the lasting admiration of a
grateful nation; now, therefore, be it

S.C.R. No. 37

RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby pay tribute to James Allen Taylor on the occasion of the 2019 Medal of Honor Host City Weekend in Gainesville and commend him for his exemplary service in the defense of our nation; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Mr. Taylor as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives and Senate.

2