SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 21

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Katy Independent School District, which has been named to the College Board's 9th Annual AP District Honor Roll; and

WHEREAS, The AP District Honor Roll is awarded to school districts that demonstrate increased access to Advanced Placement programs and increased participation in those programs; additional criteria include percentage of minority students participating in the programs and improvement in performance levels; the Katy Independent School District is one of only 373 districts in the United States and Canada to receive this prestigious designation; and

WHEREAS, Advanced Placement is one of the most effective strategies used by the state to keep college tuition affordable; students who receive college credit for their Advanced Placement courses save their families thousands of dollars each year; in 2017 alone, Texas high school students saved \$266 million in tuition fees as a result of their AP exams; and

tuition fees as a result of their AP exams; and
WHEREAS, Advanced Placement programs have played a vital
role in expanding educational opportunities and in helping
students to graduate from college in four years; the Katy
Independent School District is truly deserving of special
recognition for creating one of the best programs of its kind in
the country; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend the Katy Independent School District on its commitment to excellence in education and extend congratulations to the district on being named to the College Board's 9th Annual AP District Honor Roll; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the district as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Huffman, Kolkhorst

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 22, 2019.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate