## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 23

WHEREAS, Dr. Juan E. Mejia of Tyler Junior College has made vital contributions to the State of Texas in the course of his long and accomplished career in higher education; and

WHEREAS, Currently serving Tyler Junior College as president for branch locations and as district provost, Dr. Mejia has been instrumental in the growth and development of community, junior, and technical colleges across the state over the years; he played a crucial role in the transition of Texas State Technical Institute to Texas State Technical College, as well as in the founding of South Texas Community College and its transition to South Texas College; in recognition of his efforts, he received the 2017 Nelson Award for administrative leadership from the Texas Association of Community Colleges; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Mejia holds a bachelor's degree in education from Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi and both a master's degree in adult education and a doctorate in educational leadership from Texas A&M University--Kingsville; he is the son of Juan Mejia and Juanita Mejia-Ginés, and in all his endeavors, he enjoys the love and support of his wife, Meela, and his sons, Óscar, Jonathan, Juan, Miguel, and Gabriel; and

Óscar, Jonathan, Juan, Miguel, and Gabriel; and WHEREAS, An exemplary educator and administrator, Dr. Mejia is respected and admired by colleagues and students alike, and he has set an outstanding example to which others in his profession may aspire; now, therefore, be it

his profession may aspire; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Juan E. Mejia for his commitment to higher education and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success with his important work; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Dr. Mejia as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 22, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate