SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 39

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Bob Bullock Scholars Program of Baylor University and the young scholars participating in this year's program; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2000 to honor the memory of Lieutenant Governor Bob Bullock, this exemplary program promotes the study of politics by Baylor University students; and

WHEREAS, Each student in the program works for a member of the Texas Legislature on a full-time basis during the legislative session to learn firsthand about the political structure of Texas government; the Bob Bullock Scholars Program is an outstanding opportunity for those who seek to serve others through a career in public service; and

WHEREAS, Dr. James A. Curry, the Bob Bullock Professor of Public Policy and Administration at Baylor University, has served as director of the program since its inception; and

WHEREAS, There are six Bob Bullock Scholars participating with the Texas Senate in the 2019 session of the Texas Legislature: Daniel Burch with Senator Brian Birdwell, Cat Haseman with Senator Judith Zaffirini, Kaitlin Kassal with the Senate Committee on Finance, Amelia Tidwell with the Senate Committee on Education, Jackie Wittry with Senator Larry Taylor, and Tanner Wright with Senator Kirk Watson; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to Baylor University's Bob Bullock Scholars Program and commend this year's scholars for their participation in the state's governmental process; and, be it further

1

S.R. No. 39

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the participants in the program as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

> Birdwell, Nelson, Taylor, Watson, Zaffirini

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 28, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate