SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 67

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Golden Soror Brenda Eikner-Jones, a 50-year member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, who is being honored by Alpha Xi Omega Chapter at its Founders' Day Luncheon on February 23, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was established on June 6, 1929, through the efforts of Florence Harlee Phelps, who also served as the chapter's first president; through programs of service, the chapter has long worked to encourage young women to develop high standards of character and to strive for excellence in educational achievement, and it annually recognizes long-standing sorority members at its Founders' Day Luncheon; and

WHEREAS, Brenda Eikner-Jones was inducted into Gamma Psi Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority at Texas Southern University in Houston in 1969; over the years, she has remained a loyal member of the sorority and has served as a mentor and role model to countless sisters; and

WHEREAS, Brenda Eikner-Jones is truly deserving of recognition for her longtime membership in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and for the important role she has played in helping Alpha Xi Omega Chapter fulfill its mission of encouraging high scholastic and ethical standards, promoting unity and friendship, addressing problems that concern girls and women, and being of service to all mankind; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend Golden Soror Brenda Eikner-Jones on her dedicated service and her many achievements and extend to her congratulations on being honored by Alpha Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority at its 2019 Founders' Day Luncheon; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 28, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate