SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 75

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Stephen Willeford of Sutherland Springs for his courageous actions and resolve in the midst of gravely dangerous circumstances; and

WHEREAS, On November 5, 2017, the community of Sutherland Springs experienced great tragedy and heartbreak when a gunman opened fire on worshippers at the First Baptist Church; the gunman killed 26 people and wounded 20 others; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Willeford, whose home is across the street from the church, heard the gunfire and took immediate action; disregarding his own safety, he grabbed his rifle and ran into the street, where he encountered the gunman exiting the church, and the two began exchanging gunfire; Mr. Willeford wounded the gunman, who then got into his vehicle and fled the scene; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Willeford quickly engaged the assistance of Johnnie Langendorff, who had stopped at an intersection while driving near the scene of the shooting, and they embarked on a high-speed chase in Johnnie's truck in pursuit of the gunman; the gunman eventually ran off the road and wrecked his vehicle before taking his own life; and

WHEREAS, Stephen Willeford's quick thinking and decisive actions likely saved the lives of others the gunman might have targeted; his courage under extreme pressure has served as an inspiration to his fellow Texans and to citizens across the country, and it is truly fitting that he receive special recognition for his brave conduct; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 75

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend Stephen Willeford on his selfless and heroic actions in the wake of a horrific mass shooting and community tragedy; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of highest regard from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

Alvarado Bettencourt Birdwell Buckingham Campbell Creighton Fallon Flores Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffman Hughes Johnson Kolkhorst Lucio Menéndez Miles Nelson Nichols Paxton Perry Powell Rodríguez Schwertner Seliger Taylor Watson West Whitmire

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 29, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate