## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 126

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Stephen Charles Nash Sr. on the 50th anniversary of his service as a preacher and his 31 years of spiritual leadership at Mount Tabor Missionary Baptist Church in Dallas; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Stephen Nash was licensed to preach on April 1, 1969, and was ordained as a pastor in 1970; in the ensuing years he has distinguished himself as a respected theologian, a prolific author, and a beloved pastoral leader; and

WHEREAS, Since his calling to the ministry, Dr. Nash has earned advanced degrees across a range of theological fields, including biblical studies, divinity, religious education, urban ministries, and Christian counseling; his broad-ranging publications include a Christian textbook and works on spiritual guidance and biblical history; and

WHEREAS, A highly respected theologian, Dr. Nash has served in numerous spiritual leadership positions, and he currently serves as president emeritus of the Interdenominational Ministers' Alliance of Greater Dallas and as president of the Baptist Missionary and Education State Convention of Texas; and

Missionary and Education State Convention of Texas; and WHEREAS, Over the last 31 years, Dr. Nash has ministered faithfully to the needs of his spiritual family at Mount Tabor Missionary Baptist Church; he has devoted his time and energy unselfishly to the members of his congregation, and he has had a positive influence on the lives of innumerable Christians; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Stephen Charles Nash Sr. on a life of exceptional Christian leadership and extend to him congratulations on his 31st anniversary as pastor at Mount Tabor Missionary Baptist Church; and, be it further

Missionary Baptist Church; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 5, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate