SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 144

WHEREAS, Dr. James P. Allison, chair of the department of immunology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; and

WHEREAS, A world-renowned scientist and pioneer in cancer immunotherapy, Dr. Allison received the award jointly with Japanese immunologist Tasuku Honjo for their independent discovery of cancer therapies that stimulate the immune system to attack tumor cells; during Dr. Allison's research of T cells, white blood cells that regulate a wide range of immune responses, he found that deactivating the protein CTLA-4 can unleash the body's power to fight back against malignant tumors; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Allison earned his doctoral degree at The University of Texas at Austin; the executive director of the Immunotherapy Platform at MD Anderson Cancer Center, he is also the center's Vivian L. Smith Distinguished Chair in Immunology and the director of the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy; among his myriad honors, he is a member of the National Academies of Science and Medicine, and he was recognized with the Lasker-Debakey Clinical Medical Research Award in 2015; and

WHEREAS, The groundbreaking contributions of Dr. James Allison have placed him at the forefront of a promising new field of cancer research, and his efforts are inspiring other scientists in the Lone Star State and beyond; now, therefore, be it

the Lone Star State and beyond; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate Dr. James P. Allison on his receipt of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success with his important work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Dr. Allison as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Miles

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 12, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate