SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 174

WHEREAS, A banner year for Mission Veterans Memorial High School quarterback Landry Gilpin culminated in his receipt of the 2018 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year Award, which was presented by *Dave Campbell's Texas Football* magazine and Wells Fargo at the Texas Bowl on December 27 in Houston; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Gilpin is the first player from the Rio Grande Valley to ever receive this highly prestigious title, which in previous years has been presented to a number of renowned players who have gone on to further glory in the collegiate and professional ranks; and

WHEREAS, During the 2018 season, Mr. Gilpin threw for a record-breaking 4,545 yards and 50 touchdowns, and he also rushed for 2,115 yards and 32 TDs; he piloted the Patriots through a successful regular season, and his exceptional play helped the team reach the quarterfinals of the University Interscholastic League Class 5A Division 1 playoffs, becoming just the third Rio Grande Valley squad since 1990 to advance that far into the postseason; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Gilpin also garnered other accolades for his superlative performance in 2018, including the 5A Offensive Player of the Year award from the Associated Press Sports Editors and recognition as the First Team quarterback in the APSE All-State selections; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his high school career, Landry Gilpin has distinguished himself as one of the finest football players in the Lone Star State, and he is indeed deserving of this coveted honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate Landry Gilpin on earning the 2018 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year Award from *Dave Campbell's Texas Football* and Wells Fargo and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mr. Gilpin as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 11, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate