SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 184

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso has attained a prestigious R1 designation in the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education; and

WHEREAS, For nearly half a century, the Carnegie Classification has analyzed and categorized higher learning institutions with outstanding research and policy analysis programs; the R1 designation is conferred to top tier doctoral universities with high research activity, and this exemplary ranking has been accorded to only 130 out of the 2,883 four-year higher education institutions in the United States; and

WHEREAS, In the past 30 years, under the leadership of President Diana Natalicio, The University of Texas at El Paso has experienced significant growth in its research programs and expenditures; doctoral degree offerings have exponentially increased from one to 22 programs across campus, and annual research expenditures have risen from \$6 million to \$95 million; alongside this expansion in the scope and quality of research activities, the university has maintained its commitment to access, placing high priority on engaging students in its research endeavors; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso has distinguished itself as one of the top research universities in the nation, and this newly earned ranking is well-deserved recognition of its dedication to educational excellence; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate The University of Texas at El Paso for attaining the R1 designation in the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education and extend to the administration, faculty, students, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for The University of Texas at El Paso as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Rodríguez

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 12, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate