SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 193

WHEREAS, Members of Leadership Gainesville are visiting the State Capitol on February 13, 2019, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to honor this esteemed organization and the town it represents; and

WHEREAS, Leadership Gainesville was established in 1989 to seek out and train well-informed, civic-minded individuals who are interested in holding voluntary positions of responsibility in the community; sponsored by the Gainesville Area Chamber of Commerce, the group includes members from a variety of backgrounds, as well as persons of different ages; and

WHEREAS, The current class is composed of 20 distinguished local residents: Betty Pratt, Brant Myres-Schroeder, Brittenie Polk, Cassandra Goins, Cory Enderby, Dan Doss, David Glancy, Janice Hill, Jeffrey Stevens, Jessica Bullock, John Richard Jamieson, Larina Friend, Marinda Martin, Matilin Rigsby, Matthew Myers, Mattie Sherwin, Reagan Lynch, Shala Dennis, Morgan Moore, and Parker Preston; and

WHEREAS, Gainesville has earned a reputation for offering a high quality of life in a small-town setting; designated as a Medal of Honor Host City and named Most Patriotic Small Town in America by USA Today and Rand McNally, the community is known for its friendly and welcoming residents, its historic homes, the Morton Museum, the beautifully restored courthouse, and the downtown business district; and

WHEREAS, Leadership Gainesville is promoting the spirit of volunteerism and hometown pride that are defining characteristics of Gainesville, and by fostering an informed and engaged citizenry, the program is helping to build a brighter and more prosperous future for the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby welcome members of Leadership Gainesville to the State Capitol and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Fallon

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 13, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate