SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 195

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the delegation from the Live Oak County Historical Commission, which is visiting the State Capitol on February 26, 2019; and

WHEREAS, The Live Oak County Historical Commission was founded in the early 1960s under the auspices of Judge Harry L. Hinton to help preserve and promote local history; and

WHEREAS, The commission strives to educate the public through the publication of historical resources and through collaboration with local civic organizations; staff and volunteers also work with local officials to strengthen policy related to preservation and to honor outstanding individuals and businesses that have helped shape the community; and

WHEREAS, The commission helps preserve the region's unique history by placing historical markers at notable sites throughout the area; it also advocates for the acquisition of archeological grants to study historic sites, such as the Fort Merrill grounds; and

WHEREAS, The Live Oak County Historical Commission has received four Distinguished Service Awards from the Texas Historical Commission; the commission has also made great headway with cemetery recognition under the leadership of Cemetery Chair Sherry Kosarek; and

WHEREAS, The Live Oak County Historical Commission is indeed deserving of recognition for its diligent work to promote the region's unique cultural history and to preserve the memories of the citizenry; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend all who work to achieve the important goals of the commission and declare February 26, 2019, as Live Oak County Historical Commission Day at the Texas Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the commission as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 14, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate