SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 207

In Memory

of J. Taylor Brite

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Pleasanton in mourning the loss of Judge J. Taylor Brite, who died January 8, 2019, at the age of 97; and

WHEREAS, Born in San Antonio on October 27, 1921, Taylor Brite was a devoted public servant who was widely admired for his kindness, his integrity, and his unbiased approach to the law; and

WHEREAS, Taylor Brite began a life of service as a member of the United States Army Air Corps, and he served with distinction during World War II; and

WHEREAS, He built a reputation for judicial excellence presiding as judge of the 81st Judicial District in South Texas, and he went on to serve as senior district judge for the State of Texas and oversaw trials in numerous Texas counties; and

Texas and oversaw trials in numerous Texas counties; and WHEREAS, Judge Brite shared 68 years of marriage with the late Frances Calcote Brite; left behind to cherish his memory are his children, Steve, Gary, and Tom Brite and Patricia Brite Taylor; his grandchildren, Chris and Matt Taylor, Jennifer Hissem, Amy Brinkerhoff, Emily Grecco, Kevin Hillis, Robert, Tara, Taylor, and Alan Brite and Rachel Arevalo; and his 11 great-grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, Judge Brite was a respected and beloved member of his community, and he will long be remembered with fondness and admiration by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Judge J. Taylor Brite; and, be it further

family of Judge J. Taylor Brite; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Taylor Brite.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 19, 2019, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate