SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 211

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Parkland Memorial Hospital in Dallas on the occasion of its 125th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Parkland Hospital opened its doors on May 19, 1894, as a small treatment center for the poor, and over the years it has grown to become a world-class medical institution; and

WHEREAS, Parkland Memorial Hospital was imprinted on the nation's memory on November 22, 1963, with the tragic death of President John F. Kennedy; in the ensuing years, the hospital has earned widespread recognition for its cutting-edge trauma and burn centers, its renowned labor and delivery departments, and its innovative and fiscally sound approach to comprehensive community health care; and

WHEREAS, For well over a century, Parkland has continued in its mission of providing quality treatment for all, regardless of financial status; it has expanded services to include a variety of specialty and community clinics, and the hospital serves as home to both the Injury Prevention Center of Greater Dallas and the North Texas Poison Center; and

WHEREAS, As America faces the challenges of the 21st century, Parkland Health and Hospital System remains committed to excellence and will continue to honor its founding principles of "care, compassion, and community"; now, therefore, be it

of "care, compassion, and community"; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend all associated with Parkland Memorial Hospital and Parkland Health and Hospital System for carrying on a proud tradition of care in the Dallas County community and congratulate them as they celebrate 125 years of exceptional service; and, be it further

exceptional service; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the hospital as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 25, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate