SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 212

WHEREAS, Captain Shawn Stephenson, Lieutenant Jeff Evans, and Sergeant Steve Tippett of the Texas Department of Public Safety and game warden Cody Buckaloo of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department are being honored with Life Saving Awards from the Texas Department of Public Safety on February 21, 2019, in recognition of their roles in the rescue of four Texans during the recent Llano River flood; and

WHEREAS, On October 8, 2018, the city of Junction was pummeled by more than 18 inches of rain in the span of less than 24 hours, causing the Llano River to spill over its banks; the flooding was particularly perilous to nearby recreational vehicle campgrounds, and as the river swelled to over 31 feet high, the onrush of water toppled and destroyed travel trailers and carried away many of their occupants; and

WHEREAS, Summoned to the area as part of a Texas Department of Public Safety helicopter crew, Captain Shawn Stephenson and Lieutenant Jeff Evans immediately began locating survivors and managed to save a man who was stranded in a cluster of trees; they subsequently linked up with Warden Cody Buckaloo, a rescue swimmer, and the three officers successfully pulled two more individuals and a pet dog out of the waters near the Main Street Bridge; and

WHEREAS, Captain Stephenson and Lieutenant Evans were later joined by Sergeant Steve Tippett, who took over the responsibilities of rescue swimmer from Warden Buckaloo, and the three men were called to conduct the rescue of a woman who had

1

S.R. No. 212

been struggling to stay afloat for hours; the fast-moving current made it difficult for Sergeant Tippett to reach the woman, and the team was forced to devise an alternative strategy; just as Sergeant Tippett entered the water, the victim succumbed to exhaustion and went under, but the officer was able to pull her to the surface and attach a harness; she was then rushed to the hospital and ultimately survived the harrowing ordeal thanks to the crew's courageous intervention; and

WHEREAS, These public servants demonstrated a tremendous amount of technical skill and a willingness to perform their duties at great risk to themselves, and through their exceptional bravery, they helped prevent further loss of life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate Captain Shawn Stephenson, Lieutenant Jeff Evans, Sergeant Steve Tippett, and Warden Cody Buckaloo on their receipt of Life Saving Awards from the Texas Department of Public Safety and extend to them heartfelt gratitude for their heroism; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for each officer as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Buckingham

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 19, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate