SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 213

In Memory of Elsa Gonzalez Laurel

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Elsa Gonzalez Laurel, who died February 5, 2019, at the age of 90; and

WHEREAS, Born in Laredo, Elsa Laurel was a direct descendant of Tomas Sanchez, the city's founder, and she grew up in the historic Benavides-Herrera house; she earned her high school degree at the young age of 15, and she was later crowned the first Miss Laredo in 1948; and

WHEREAS, In 1951, she married the late Oscar M. Laurel, and she supported him through his career in local and state politics while giving generously of her time to many charitable and cultural organizations; the couple relocated to Washington, D.C., when Mr. Laurel was appointed to serve in President Lyndon B. Johnson's administration, and Mrs. Laurel soon became known for hosting legendary parties that brought South Texas flair to her northern neighbors; and

WHEREAS, After Mr. and Mrs. Laurel left Washington, she traveled the world, spent time at the ranch, and supported their children, Elsa Laurel Nicholson and Oscar M. Laurel Jr., through their college years; above all, she cherished time spent with family, and her five grandchildren and five great-grandchildren enriched her life immeasurably; and

WHEREAS, A woman of great dignity, kindness, and charm, Elsa Laurel was beloved by many, and she will long be remembered with respect and admiration by all who were privileged to share in her life; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Elsa G. Laurel; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Elsa Laurel.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 19, 2019, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate