SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 224

WHEREAS, Members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas, one of the nation's oldest law enforcement organizations, are gathering in Austin on February 26, 2019, to participate in Sheriffs' Association of Texas Day at the Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Constitution created the office of sheriff in each county of the state; legislation requires that a sheriff conserve peace and enforce the criminal laws of the state; moreover, the sheriff is responsible for the county jail, bail bonds, civil process, and the security of the courts; in some smaller counties, the sheriff may also act as the tax collector; and

WHEREAS, The first meeting of this esteemed association took place on August 14, 1874; association members adopted their preamble calling for sheriffs to assist one another in the execution of laws, in the discharge of their duties against criminals, and in the protection of the citizens in their respective counties and throughout the state; through the years, members of the association have continued to support the dictates of this mission; and

WHEREAS, The office of sheriff is one of the oldest forms of law enforcement; sheriffs in our state's 254 counties are elected to four-year terms, and each sheriff is a member of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas; in addition, more than 2,500 individuals are active members of the group, and more than 50,000 individuals are honorary members; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 224

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby recognize February 26, 2019, as Sheriffs' Association of Texas Day at the Capitol and commend the members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas for their many contributions to our state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the association as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner

Alvarado	Hinojosa	Paxton
Bettencourt	Huffman	Perry
Birdwell	Hughes	Powell
Buckingham	Johnson	Rodríguez
Campbell	Kolkhorst	Seliger
Creighton	Lucio	Taylor
Fallon	Menéndez	Watson
Flores	Miles	West
Hall	Nelson	Whitmire
Hancock	Nichols	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 26, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate