## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 248

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Tyler baseball team closed out an unforgettable year in triumphant fashion by winning the 2018 NCAA Division III championship on May 29 in Appleton, Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, A national title seemed a long shot for the unranked Patriots following their semifinal loss in the American Southwest Conference tournament, but under the direction of head coach Brent Porche, UT Tyler capitalized on the at-large bid it received to the NCAA tournament; the team went on to win the Central Regional Tournament and earn a slot in the Division III championship bracket; after defeating the State University of New York at Oswego and Misericordia University, the Patriots climbed to the elimination round, where they dropped the first game to Randolph-Macon College and then rallied to take the rematch and advance to the NCAA finale; and

WHEREAS, With the title on the line, UT Tyler faced off against No. 6 Texas Lutheran University in the best-of-three championship series; the Patriots dominated the opener, scoring two runs in the first inning and adding five in the fourth frame to surge to an 8-1 victory; demonstrating its tenacity throughout Game Two, UT Tyler erased an early deficit and then broke the contest open by scoring five runs in the seventh inning to prevail by a final score of 9-6; with the win, the Patriots collected the first championship in program history and also became the first American Southwest Conference team to claim a national crown; and

WHEREAS, UT Tyler was led by Simon Sedillo, who pitched two complete games in the NCAA tournament and was named the Most Outstanding Player; moreover, Bowie Farris, Blake Maddox,

S.R. No. 248

Tanner Roach, and Henry Sanchez were named to the All-Tournament Team; and

WHEREAS, Winning a national title represents the culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, and the members of The University of Texas at Tyler baseball team will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate The University of Texas at Tyler Patriots on winning the 2018 NCAA Division III national championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 25, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate