SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 289

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Brandon Oldenburg for his exceptional career and accomplishments and for his promotion of the arts in his home state; and

WHEREAS, An award-winning illustrator, designer, sculptor, and film director, Brandon Oldenburg is a cofounder of Reel FX and Moonbot Studios, and he currently serves as chief creative officer of the Flight School Studio, a leading company in the world of digital design and virtual reality; and

WHEREAS, As a youth, Brandon was inspired to pursue an artistic career after watching *Raiders of the Lost Ark* with his father; he began making films with friends in his North Richland Hills community, and he ultimately flourished with the support of caring parents who nurtured his creative aspirations; and

WHEREAS, Brandon's illustrations have graced the covers of books by such prestigious authors as Elmore Leonard and Michael Chabon; in 2012, he earned an Academy Award for his animated short film The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore, and he earned an Emmy Award in 2013; his work on a sculptural series in collaboration with renowned designer Brad Oldham garnered national attention, and he was honored with a Distinguished Alumni of the Year award in 2010 by the Ringling College of Art and Design; and

WHEREAS, Brandon Oldenburg resides in Arlington and continues to draw inspiration from his beloved home state; his success is a source of encouragement to other artists and filmmakers in Texas, and the Senate is truly honored to welcome him to the Capitol; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby recognize Brandon Oldenburg as a treasured citizen of the Lone Star State and extend to him best wishes for the future in all his endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hancock

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate