SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 294

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney's Office on the occasion of its 100th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, The Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney's Office was established on October 19, 1919; Jesse Brown, who devoted more than 40 years to serving the people of the county, was the county's first criminal district attorney; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the office has been led by 15 exemplary attorneys, including Tim Curry, who served for 37 years, and current Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney Sharen Wilson; and

WHEREAS, The office has been at the forefront of numerous advances in the legal profession; it hired the state's first woman and first African American assistant criminal district attorneys and created the first known pretrial diversion program; it created an open file policy for defense attorneys decades before the practice was mandated, and the office was among the first in the state to accept electronic filing of criminal cases and to establish a victims' assistance office; and

WHEREAS, For 100 years, the Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney's Office has served the county's citizens with integrity and professionalism, and it is truly fitting that the office receive special recognition on this milestone in its history; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend the attorneys and staff of the Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney's Office on their

commitment to enhancing public safety through vigorous enforcement of the law and extend to them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this office and as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 4, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate