SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 323

In Memory of Kyrell McBride Johnson

WHEREAS, The tragic passing of Kyrell McBride Johnson on August 22, 2018, at the age of 13, brought a devastating loss to the family and many friends of this beloved young man; and

WHEREAS, Kyrell McBride Johnson was born on March 9, 2005, to Monica Debbs and David Demerson, and his treasured family included his eight sisters and five brothers; and

WHEREAS, Kyrell excelled in athletics from an early age; he had recently transferred from T. A. Howard Middle School to Summer Creek Middle School for his eighth grade year, and he had been practicing to play for the Summer Creek football team; outgoing and high-spirited, he readily made a host of friends among his new classmates at Summer Creek; and

WHEREAS, Although the sudden loss of one so young and full of promise is immeasurably painful, Kyrell McBride Johnson has left behind countless people who loved and cherished him, and they will forever keep his memory alive in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the life of Kyrell McBride Johnson and extend deepest condolences to the members of his family: to his mother, Monica Debbs, and her husband, Robert; to his father, David Demerson; to his grandparents, Margie Richardson and her husband, Robert, Darrell D. Johnson and his wife, Aundrea, Louis Carter, Albert Demerson, and Fredonia Clemons; to his sisters, Carrington McBride, Kiyuana, Maria, Heaven, and Brooklyn Debbs, and Dashia, Dashiera, and Chasity Demerson; to his brothers, Davion and Drevion Jones, and Ajioni, Dave, and Dazjion Demerson; to his godbrothers, Jaylen Lee and Lawrence Johnson; and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Kyrell McBride Johnson.

Powell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 6, 2019, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate