SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 328

WHEREAS, When a person is losing blood, every minute counts, and the Stop the Bleed campaign of the American College of Surgeons is informing Americans about vital measures that can be taken to aid trauma victims; and

WHEREAS, The initiative was created in the wake of the 2012 mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School; in response, the American College of Surgeons brought together senior health care and public safety leaders to produce a program to improve the survival rate for victims suffering from bleeding injuries; and

WHEREAS, Because a trauma victim can die from loss of blood within five minutes--before professional first responders may arrive on the scene--the program teaches bleeding-control methods that have been developed by the military and emergency services personnel; by becoming adept at these procedures, citizens can function as "immediate responders" in dire situations; and

WHEREAS, The Stop the Bleed program also provides kits that include such tools as tourniquets, dressings, and topical hemostatic agents that can be used to offer swift assistance; these trauma kits can be affixed to walls in public places, much like the cardiac defibrillators with which many buildings are now equipped; and

WHEREAS, In addition to installing at least one bleeding control kit in a readily accessible location, schools can help ensure that they are prepared for an emergency by conducting bleeding control training as part of regular physical education classes; and

WHEREAS, The Stop the Bleed campaign is empowering individuals across the country to save lives in situations when time is of the absolute essence, and all Texans are encouraged to take part in this initiative by learning about proper bleeding control techniques; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby recognize March 31, 2019, and March 31, 2020, as Stop the Bleed Day.

Powell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 7, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate