## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 349

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Governor's Commission for Women for serving the State of Texas for more than 50 years; and WHEREAS, The Governor's Commission for Women was

WHEREAS, The Governor's Commission for Women was established in 1967 by executive order as the Texas Commission on the Status of Women, and the group's name was changed to its current name by executive order in 1983; and WHEREAS, The commission was created to promote state

WHEREAS, The commission was created to promote state policies that provide equal opportunities for women and aid in the advancement of women in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, the commission has worked to support programs and activities that ensure that women have access to resources and opportunities in business and in the community to help them succeed; the commission also recognizes the achievements of women throughout Texas, and its work continues today under Executive Order GA 01; and WHEREAS, The Governor's Commission for Women has for more

WHEREAS, The Governor's Commission for Women has for more than 50 years benefited Texas women, their families, and indeed all Texans; it is truly deserving of special recognition for the profound impact it has had on the lives of the residents of this state; now, therefore, be it

state; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend the Governor's Commission for Women on its commitment to improving the lives of Texas women and extend to all associated with the commission best wishes as they celebrate the commission's accomplishments; and, be it further

celebrate the commission's accomplishments; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the commission as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

Alvarado	Huffman	Powell
Buckingham	Kolkhorst	Zaffirini
Campbell	Paxton	

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 12, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate