SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 407

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Lone Star State's own Wood and Wire, whose album, North of Despair, was honored with a 2018 Grammy Award nomination in the Best Bluegrass Album category; and

WHEREAS, Austin-based Wood and Wire formed in 2011 with songwriter and vocalist Tony Kamel, mandolin picker Billy Bright, banjoist Trevor Smith, and upright bassist Dominic Fisher, and the band was quickly recognized as an impressive force in bluegrass; and

WHEREAS, The talented musicians gained a loyal fan base as regulars at the Old Settler's Music Fest, and they are known as the nucleus of the Monday night bluegrass residency at Radio Coffee and Beer, an event that highlights some of the state's most talented bluegrass performers; and

WHEREAS, Wood and Wire has created a signature sound that melds hard-country songwriting and high-octane bluegrass instrumentation; the band members' vivid songwriting has been showcased on three full-length albums, two extended-play albums, and a live recording; and

WHEREAS, Wood and Wire's Grammy-nominated album brings together contributions from each band member with songs that give a modern voice to their hardworking Texas ancestors; the band recorded the album at the Zone, a renowned studio located in the heart of the Texas Hill Country; and

WHEREAS, North of Despair is a truly remarkable album that honors proud traditions in Americana bluegrass while offering a lively new vision for Texas music, and it is indeed fitting that it has brought Wood and Wire national acclaim; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby recognize the members of Wood and Wire as treasured citizens of the Lone Star State and congratulate them on their 2018 Grammy Award nomination for Best Bluegrass Album; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the band as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 14, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate