SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 440

In Memory of Nestor Garza Jr.

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Nestor Garza Jr., who died February 15, 2018, at the age of 89; and
WHEREAS, Nestor Garza was an exemplary citizen who was

WHEREAS, Nestor Garza was an exemplary citizen who was respected and admired in his community for his hard work and his achievements; and

WHEREAS, Born in El Capote, Mr. Garza grew up and spent his life in Pharr; he and his beloved wife, Esperanza P. Garza, married on November 27, 1955, and they enjoyed 62 years of marriage together; he was a longtime member of Saint Anne, Mother of Mary Catholic Church; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Garza was a steadfast believer in the importance of education and did everything within his power to ensure that his children, Nestor Garza III, Raul Garza, Maricela Cortez, Graciela Vela, and Roberto Garza, were able to meet their educational goals; his 14 grandchildren and his great-granddaughter were a source of much pride and joy for him; and

much pride and joy for him; and

WHEREAS, A man of courage, strength, and generosity, he
gave unselfishly to others, and his wisdom, warmth, and valued
counsel will not be forgotten by those who were privileged to
share in his life; and

WHEREAS, He was a devoted husband, father, and grandfather, and he leaves behind memories that will be cherished forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Nestor Garza Jr.; and, be it further

family of Nestor Garza Jr.; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Nestor Garza Jr.

Lucio

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 19, 2019, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate