SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 449

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the residents of Fairfield and the members of the Fairfield Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of Fairfield Day at the Capitol on April 4, 2019; and

WHEREAS, The City of Fairfield was founded in 1851 and is the seat of Freestone County; the historic courthouse was constructed in 1919, and it remains the focal point of the town square; agriculture, along with coal and natural gas, form the basis of the area's economy; and

WHEREAS, The Fairfield Chamber of Commerce is dedicated to serving as the voice of the community by educating, leading, and promoting economic development and tourism in the region; and

WHEREAS, The chamber is ably led by its board of directors, which consists of: Gail Farish, chair; Josh Bayless, vice chair; Brenda Finley, secretary; Gina Martin, treasurer; Libby Harris, Eli Pratt, and Averie Grant, directors; and Brenda Pate, executive director; and

WHEREAS, The people of Fairfield are confidently looking forward to the future while continuing to embrace their rich and colorful past; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend the people of Fairfield on their many contributions to the growth and prosperity of our state and extend to all best wishes for a memorable Fairfield Day at the Capitol; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}, \ {\tt That} \ {\tt a} \ {\tt copy} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt Resolution} \ {\tt be} \ {\tt prepared} \ {\tt in} \ {\tt honor} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt special} \ {\tt occasion}.$

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 20, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate