SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 450

WHEREAS, The Texas Sports Hall of Fame is recognizing the exceptional accomplishments of its 2019 inductees at a ceremony on March 30 in Waco; and

WHEREAS, Since inducting its first member in 1951, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame has honored the athletic careers of more than 300 men and women; in 1993, the institution opened a museum in Waco to chronicle the lives of these legendary individuals and to preserve the history of sports in Texas for present and future generations; and

WHEREAS, The hall of fame's Class of 2019 is made up of seven exemplary athletes: the late professional tennis star Maureen Connolly Brinker, former Texas A&M University and National Football League placekicker Tony Franklin, former Houston Texans wide receiver Andre Johnson, pioneering professional basketball player and coach Nancy Lieberman, former University of Arkansas football player Loyd Phillips, former University of Texas and Major League Baseball pitcher Greg Swindell, and retired Dallas Cowboys All-Pro tight end Jason Witten; and

WHEREAS, Through their outstanding skill and dedication, these esteemed Texans have furthered the proud tradition of athletic excellence in the Lone Star State, and they are indeed deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby recognize the 2019 inductees of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future.

Birdwell

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 20, 2019.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate