## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 480

WHEREAS, The Fightin' Texas Aggie Band, the nation's largest military marching band, is celebrating its 125th anniversary in 2019; and

WHEREAS, The official marching band of Texas A&M University, the Fightin' Texas Aggie Band was established in 1894 under the direction of Joseph Holick; originally composed of only 13 cadets, the group now has approximately 400 musicians in its ranks; the unit's members belong to the school's Corps of Cadets and perform during halftime at all home games and select away games for the Aggies' football team; renowned for its intricate drills, precise formations, and distinctive sound that favors traditional march scores over contemporary pieces, the band has earned legendary status through the decades; and

WHEREAS, Appearing at a wide range of events over the years, the Aggie Band helped celebrate the first Armistice Day in 1919 and has performed at presidential and gubernatorial inaugurations, at presidential funerals, and at parades, concerts, and various other civic functions in College Station and Bryan; in honor of its long tradition of excellence, the band received the John Philip Sousa Foundation's Sudler Trophy in 2001; and

WHEREAS, The Fightin' Texas Aggie Band is a vibrant part of the rich cultural fabric of the Lone Star State, representing the university's core values of integrity, leadership, respect, and selfless service, and its members are indeed deserving of recognition on this special occasion; now, therefore, be it

recognition on this special occasion; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Fightin' Texas Aggie Band on its 125th anniversary and extend to each member sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Aggie Band as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Bettencourt, Flores

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 27, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate