## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 496

WHEREAS, A group of ranchers and farmers from across the Lone Star State have received recognition as the 2017 and 2018 winners of the Lone Star Land Steward Awards and the Leopold Conservation Awards; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1996 by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, the Lone Star Land Steward Awards celebrate excellence in private land conservation by recognizing landowners for their outstanding stewardship of our state's land, water, and wildlife resources; more than 225 Texas landowners have been recognized to date, and each year, the overall state winner is presented with the Leopold Conservation Award, which is sponsored by the Sand County Foundation; and

WHEREAS, The recipient of the Leopold Conservation Award in 2017 was the Dixon Water Foundation, owner of Dixon Ranches in Parker, Cooke, and Presidio Counties; the 2017 Ecoregion Award winners also included Mark Brown of Brown Ranch in Fayette County, Mike Harris and John Sewell of Harris Ranch in Uvalde and Kinney Counties, Kim Bergman and Pam Mabry Bergman of Three Mile Creek Ranch in Gillespie County, the Michaux family of Solana Ranch in Bell and Williamson Counties, Greg Grant of Arcadia in Shelby County, CEMEX USA and J. Austin Ranches of El Carmen Land and Conservation Company in Brewster County, and Rod and Mary Hench of Wild Wings Ranch in Scurry County; and

WHEREAS, In 2018, the Leopold Conservation Award went to Rolanette and Berdon Lawrence of Laborcitas Creek Ranch in Brooks County, while the 2018 Ecoregion Award winners included Deborah Clark and Emry Birdwell of Birdwell and Clark Ranch in Clay

S.R. No. 496

County, Christopher Harte and William Harte of Spicewood Ranch in Burnet County, Nelson Roach of Couch Mountain in Camp County, Tamara and Justin Trail of Trail Ranch in Shackelford County, the Hughes-Sasser Partnership of Billingsley Ranch in Presidio and Jeff Davis Counties, and the Alum Creek Wildlife Management Association in Bastrop County; and

WHEREAS, The natural beauty and ecological diversity of the Lone Star State depend greatly on careful stewardship by its landowners, and these conscientious and hardworking Texans are helping to preserve precious natural and cultural resources for future generations; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate the 2017 and 2018 recipients of the Lone Star Land Steward Awards and the Leopold Conservation Awards and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for each recipient as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Flores, Kolkhorst

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 26, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate