## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 512

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas School for the Deaf Lady Rangers basketball team, which has won 33 games in the 2018-2019 season and has set a new national Deaf school basketball record for most games won by a boys' or girls' team in a single season; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Rangers won all the tournaments in which they competed this season, including the Brentwood Best Pack Invitational in Austin, the FEAST Patriots Invitational in San Antonio, the Leopards Classic in Arkansas, the New Year's Eve Shootout in Boerne, and the Clerc Classic XIX in California; and

WHEREAS, Each team member contributed to the strength and chemistry of the team, which successfully ended the regular season with an undefeated 31-0 record; and

WHEREAS, The team advanced to the 2019 Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools Class 4A Final Four and was named Deaf Digest Sports Team of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Brian Sipek and assistant coaches Ashley Elliott, Sean Moore, and Sheri Mize emphasized the importance of academic achievement and leadership throughout the year and provided support and encouragement as the players honed their skills; and

WHEREAS, Team members Janelle Coons, Isadora Egbert, Ashlene Etkie, Ashley Harlicker, Michaela Kelley, Kaci Ketchum, Brianna Leiker, Jewel Rocha, Sunita Schmidjorg, Precious Schwartz, Leila Sicoli, and Jayne Taylor have brought great pride to the Texas School for the Deaf, to the Deaf community, and to the entire State of Texas; now, therefore, be it

the entire State of Texas; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend the players and coaches of the 2018-2019 Texas School for the Deaf Lady Rangers basketball team on their many achievements and extend to all associated with the team congratulations on their record-setting season; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 27, 2019.

## Secretary of the Senate