SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 523

WHEREAS, For 40 years, Mercy Ships has sailed across the world to help people in developing nations without access to safe, affordable medical care; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1978 by Don and Deyon Stephens, the Christian charity uses state-of-the-art hospital ships that are crewed by hundreds of volunteers, including surgeons, dentists, nurses, health care trainers, and teachers; due to the fact that more than half of the world's population lives within 100 miles of a coast, the organization's ships are able to reach thousands of people and perform a variety of onboard procedures, which include dental, plastic reconstructive, maxillofacial, eye, and orthopedic surgery; often, these surgical interventions have a profound impact in the lives of patients, whose conditions may have previously left them unable to find work and socially isolated in their communities; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, volunteers with Mercy Ships have carried out more than 95,000 surgeries, and the organization has provided services and materials that are valued at over \$1.53 billion; its hospital ships have visited close to 600 ports over the past four decades, and its current vessel, *Africa Mercy*, boasts a greater capacity than all prior ships combined; and

WHEREAS, The many caring volunteers of Mercy Ships have brought hope and healing to those in need by following the example of the Lord Jesus, and in so doing they have transformed the lives of countless people across the globe; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate Mercy Ships on its 40th anniversary and extend to all those involved with this remarkable organization sincere best wishes for continued success with their important work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mercy Ships as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 1, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate