SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 559

WHEREAS, Friends of the Governor's Mansion is celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2019; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1979 by Governor William P. Clements Jr. and First Lady Rita Clements, the nonprofit organization is dedicated to maintaining the Texas Governor's Mansion and preserving its historical and cultural integrity; the group also works to educate the public about the building and its contents; and

WHEREAS, Friends of the Governor's Mansion raises funds to acquire museum-quality artwork as well as antique furnishings made in the United States that enhance the mansion and reflect its significance in the annals of Texas; it oversees the Mansion Collection of furnishings and state-owned artifacts, restoring and replacing items as needed; and

WHEREAS, Passersby can readily observe the organization's attention to the exterior of the mansion; Friends of the Governor's Mansion supports a garden fund that provides for seasonal plantings, and the group offers advice on significant landscaping projects; and

WHEREAS, Managed by a statewide board of directors, Friends of the Governor's Mansion performs its activities at the mansion through memoranda of agreement with the Texas Historical Commission and the State Preservation Board; the governor and first lady serve as advisory members of the board, which includes two current members of THC, as well as the executive directors of THC and SPB and the citizen member of SPB; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated stewardship of Friends of the Governor's Mansion ensures that this state treasure sets the highest standard of historical preservation while remaining a home that each governor's family endows with its own traditions; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate Friends of the Governor's Mansion on its 40th anniversary and commend all those associated with this noteworthy organization; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hancock

Alvarado Huffman Perry Powell Bettencourt Hughes Rodríguez Birdwell Johnson Buckingham Kolkhorst Schwertner Campbell Lucio Seliger Creighton Menéndez Taylor Fallon Miles Watson Flores Nelson West Hall Nichols Whitmire Hinojosa Zaffirini Paxton

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 9, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate