## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 565

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the citizens of Grimes County on the occasion of the 125th anniversary of the historic Grimes County Courthouse, which is being celebrated on June 15, 2019; and

WHEREAS, The Grimes County Courthouse was built in 1894 and is the fifth structure to serve as the county's seat of government; it replaced the fourth building, which was lost to a fire in 1893, and uses a part of the red brick from the previous courthouse's east wall; its distinct color pattern is the result of using bricks from a variety of different sources; and

of using bricks from a variety of different sources; and WHEREAS, Through the years, the courthouse has been the scene of a wide range of notable events, including a gunfight over a contested 1898 election that resulted in damage to the building that is still visible today; a made-for-television film directed by Goldie Hawn, Hope, featured the courthouse in multiple scenes; and

WHEREAS, Today, area citizens continue the long tradition of meeting at the Grimes County Courthouse on election night to celebrate democracy and await election returns; and

celebrate democracy and await election returns; and WHEREAS, For 125 years, the Grimes County Courthouse has been a vital part of the fabric of life in the region, and it is truly fitting that it receive recognition on the occasion of this anniversary; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend the citizens of Grimes County on their commitment to preserving their rich history and extend to them best wishes for a festive 125th anniversary celebration of the Grimes County Courthouse; and, be it further

the Grimes County Courthouse; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Schwertner

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 10, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate