SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 632

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of Austin High School's Ballet Folklórico on the occasion of the program's 15th rebirth anniversary, which is being celebrated at its Gran Show de Primavera on May 3, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Ballet Folklórico is a for-credit, self-funded program and working dance company at Austin High School; the group produces about 20 shows during the school year, and the dancers close out each year with the annual Gran Show de Primavera; and

WHEREAS, This year is Ballet Folklórico's 15th anniversary of the program's rebirth because the company lost sponsorship in the 1990s; it was reorganized by Maura Patricia Masters, who was hired in 2003 and continues to direct the program today; and

WHEREAS, Ballet Folklórico succeeds through the efforts of every dancer and the guidance of chief instructor and choreographer Victoria Carr; a student officer corps helps lead the group and assists in every aspect of the organization, from instruction to purchasing costumes and other items; and

instruction to purchasing costumes and other items; and WHEREAS, The talented dancers of Ballet Folklórico perform throughout the greater Austin community and compete at events around the state; their 2019 Gran Show de Primavera, Nuestra Historia, will celebrate both the history of the dance company and the history of Mexico; now, therefore, be it

and the history of Mexico; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend all associated with Ballet Folklórico at Austin High School for promoting cultural and performing arts in their community and extend to them best wishes for a memorable 15th anniversary Gran Show de Primavera; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the dance company as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 24, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate