SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 633

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Legislative Internship Program Class of the 86th Legislature; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Legislative Internship Program was established by Senator Rodney Ellis in December of 1990 and is administered by Texas Southern University; and

WHEREAS, This excellent internship program provides a unique opportunity for students from Texas colleges and universities to serve as interns in the Texas Legislature, the United States Congress, and a variety of local, state, and national governmental agencies and public policy organizations; and

WHEREAS, Students receive academic credit for participating in the program, which combines academic study and research with supervised practical training; as interns, they gain firsthand knowledge of the governmental process and work experience in a political environment, as well as insight into the issues facing our communities and our state today; and

WHEREAS, The participants in the Texas Legislative Internship Program are Brandi Granderson, Jennifer Russell, John Phelan, Day Brown, Paige Bostic, Franklin Achonye, Brianna Golden, Pedro Perez-Navejar, Yusuf Bavi, Sherrell Ross, Sarah Perkins, Braylen Gage, Alexis Tatum, Kelly Peterson, Zainab Ghwari, Ikenna Okoro, Breana Wilson, Kathleen Roberts, Victoria Garcia, Leland Ellis, Justus Miles, and Kristopher Henny; and

WHEREAS, Program participants demonstrated resourcefulness and diligence in the performance of their multifaceted duties and contributed significantly to the ongoing

operations in the offices in which they served; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend the participants in the Texas Legislative Internship Program on their excellent work and extend to them best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the class as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Member, Texas Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate