## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 678

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley chess team, which won the 2019 President's Cup; and

WHEREAS, The President's Cup is known as the Final Four of collegiate chess competition; it brings together the four highest-ranked collegiate teams in the country to determine a national champion; and

WHEREAS, The Vaqueros captured their second consecutive national championship title by defeating six-time champion Webster University; team members Kamil Dragun, Andrey Stukopin, Hovhannes Gabuzyan, Vladimir Belous, and Guillermo Vázquez can take great pride in their outstanding performances; and

WHEREAS, The Vaqueros developed highly effective tactics and strategies under the exceptional leadership of chess coach Grandmaster Bartlomiej Bartek Macieja, chess program manager Grandmaster Aleksander Mista, and associate dean for student rights and responsibilities Dr. Douglas Stoves; and

WHEREAS, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley and the people of South Texas are proud of the Vaqueros for their hard work and impressive skills; now, therefore, be it

work and impressive skills; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby congratulate the members of The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley chess team on winning the 2019 President's Cup and extend to them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

success; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 1, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate