SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 683

WHEREAS, The students, faculty, and staff of Texas A&M University--San Antonio are celebrating the school's 10th anniversary in 2019; and

WHEREAS, Texas A&M University--San Antonio was established as a stand-alone institution in May 2009, after Governor Rick Perry signed into law Senate Bill 629 from the 81st Texas Legislature; that momentous occasion was the culmination of a process that had begun in 1997, when Senator Frank Madla first requested proposals to create a college in South San Antonio; the first classes convened in 2000 under the name Texas A&M University-Kingsville System Center-San Antonio, and the campus's permanent home was established in 2007 with the receipt of nearly 700 acres from the Verano Land Group; and

WHEREAS, The first upper-division institution of higher education on the city's South Side, Texas A&M University--San Antonio has filled a vital need in the community, and it has grown dramatically; by the fall of 2017, the school had seen a 340 percent increase in enrollment over the previous nine years; to keep pace with the needs of its students, the university has opened a number of state-of-the-art facilities, including the recent additions of Esperanza Hall, the Presidio Gallery, and the Science and Technology Building; and

WHEREAS, Today Texas A&M University--San Antonio serves nearly 6,500 students--approximately 77 percent of whom are the first in their family to attend college--and the school has graduated more than 8,000 alumni; offering degrees in over 30 undergraduate and graduate courses of study, the university provides students with the opportunity to earn an affordable

1

S.R. No. 683

education in a variety of in-demand fields, such as education, business, criminology, biology, and information technology and cybersecurity; and

WHEREAS, During the past decade, Texas A&M University--San Antonio has given thousands of Texans a strong academic foundation on which to build, and the school is indeed deserving of recognition as it celebrates this important milestone in its history; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commemorate the 10th anniversary of Texas A&M University--San Antonio and extend to all those associated with the institution sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Texas A&M University--San Antonio as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Flores

Alvarado Bettencourt Birdwell Buckingham Campbell Creighton Fallon Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffman Hughes Johnson Kolkhorst Lucio Menéndez Miles Nelson Nichols Paxton

Perry Powell Rodríguez Schwertner Seliger Taylor Watson West Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate