SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 738

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the lives of all Texas students who are no longer with us because of untimely, unexpected, and preventable deaths; and

WHEREAS, Four bright and beloved young Texans, namely, Dalton Debrick of Texas Tech University, Matthew Ellis of Texas State University, Joseph Little of Texas A&M University, and Nicky Cumberland of The University of Texas at Austin, have died in recent years from hazing or due to circumstances related to hazing; and

WHEREAS, These young men were dedicated students and cherished sons, brothers, and friends; and

WHEREAS, Many who knew and loved them have raised their voices and taken action to educate others about the dangers of hazing, and many have served as advocates for greater accountability and transparency at colleges and universities throughout Texas and the nation; and

WHEREAS, Hazing is a dangerous and pervasive practice that has been implicated in the deaths of too many of this state's promising young people and has caused long-term physical, psychological, and emotional harm to countless others; and

WHEREAS, Many student organizations and school sponsors, educators, and alumni are striving to ensure the health and safety of all who might be subject to the practice of hazing; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby extend its sincerest condolences to the

1

S.R. No. 738

bereaved families, friends, and peers of the victims of hazing and commend them for dedicating their time and efforts to ensure that in the future no others need grieve the consequences of hazing.

Zaffirini

Alvarado Bettencourt Birdwell Buckingham Campbell Creighton Fallon Flores Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffman Hughes Johnson Kolkhorst Lucio Menéndez Miles Nelson Nichols Paxton Perry Powell Rodríguez Schwertner Seliger Taylor Watson West Whitmire

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate