SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 767

WHEREAS, Texans and people around the globe were deeply saddened by the campus shooting that took place at Santa Fe High School on May 18, 2018, which resulted in the loss of 10 innocent lives; and

WHEREAS, The victims included eight students, Jared Conard Black, Shana Fisher, Christian Riley Garcia, Aaron Kyle McLeod, Angelique Ramirez, Sabika Sheikh, Christopher Stone, and Kimberly Vaughan, who ranged in age from 14 to 18; also killed were two substitute teachers, Glenda Ann Perkins and Cynthia Tisdale, and 13 other individuals were wounded in the attack; and

WHEREAS, First responders and school resource officers demonstrated outstanding bravery in helping evacuate the building and in confronting, containing, and ultimately apprehending the gunman; and

WHEREAS, The incident has deeply impacted the town of Santa Fe; present on that fateful day were 1,435 students and 85 teachers, and they, along with the bereaved families of the victims, have experienced immense heartbreak; though the journey to healing has proven difficult, the community has shown its resilience and compassion during this time of need, as neighbors have come together to support and comfort those most affected; and

WHEREAS, In pausing to reflect on this solemn anniversary, we remember those whose lives were lost, and our hearts go out to the many whose lives were forever altered; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby extend condolences to the people of Santa Fe

S.R. No. 767

on the occasion of the one-year anniversary of the Santa Fe High School shooting and commend the efforts of those who have promoted unity and healing in the aftermath of this tragedy.

Taylor

Alvarado	Hinojosa	Paxton
Bettencourt	Huffman	Perry
Birdwell	Hughes	Powell
Buckingham	Johnson	Rodríguez
Campbell	Kolkhorst	Schwertner
Creighton	Lucio	Seliger
Fallon	Menéndez	Watson
Flores	Miles	West
Hall	Nelson	Whitmire
Hancock	Nichols	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2019, by a

rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate