## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 776

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Tommy Cox, who has been selected for induction into the 2019 Hall of Honor by the Texas High School Coaches Association; and

WHEREAS, Tommy Cox distinguished himself as a skilled athlete while serving as a varsity quarterback at Travis High School in Austin; he went on to become a three-year starter at Southwest Texas State University, and he was named to the university's All-Decade Team in 1979; and

WHEREAS, Tommy Cox began his career as a head football coach in 1980, when he was hired to lead the team at his high school alma mater; he took charge of the Bowie High School Bulldogs in 1988, and during his 14 years of coaching there, he led his teams to six consecutive state playoffs; he retired from coaching in 2001, having led the Bulldogs to an impressive 81-75-1 record; and

WHEREAS, During his 21 years of coaching, Coach Cox earned a reputation for his principled leadership and uncompromising sportsmanship; he was hired as the athletic director for the Austin Independent School District in 2001, and he served in that position until his retirement in 2014; and

WHEREAS, Tommy Cox is a highly respected member of the community, and he has set an example for excellence as a coach in Texas high school football and as a school district administrator; he is being inducted into the Hall of Honor on July 20, 2019, during the annual state coaching convention in Houston; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 86th Legislature, hereby commend Tommy Cox on his outstanding career as a high school football coach and athletic director and congratulate him on his induction into the Texas High School Coaches Association 2019 Hall of Honor; and, be it further

Coaches Association 2019 Hall of Honor; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 20, 2019.

Secretary of the Senate